Skip Navigation

California Process Server Bonds


California Process Server Bond Information

Process servers in California must furnish a surety bond pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 16 of Division 8 of the Business and Professions Code of the State of California. The bond ensures compliance with all governing laws in California pertaining to performing service of process procedures, including the function of delivering the notice to appear in court to the individual named in the documents.

California Process Server Bond Prices - Buy Online

Process Server Bond

$2,000 Bond

2-Year Bond

Can't find what you need?

Let our bond experts help!

Get Started »
No obligation, takes 2 minutes

If you'd prefer, call us at 1-800-608-9950

Getting Your California Business License or Registration

You must be at least 18 years old to work as a process server in California

You must have lived in California for at least one year preceding your application to become a process server in the state

You must not have had a felony conviction

You must register if you will serve more than 10 papers per year

You must post a $2,000 surety bond 

You must have two photographs if you are filing an initial registration 

You fill out a registration form typically available from your county clerk’s website

You have fingerprints taken at your local law enforcement agency

You will register with your county and pay required fees