Texas Bonded Vehicle Titles
Texas Bonded Vehicle Title Information
A Texas Bonded Title (also known as a Certificate of Title Bond, Defective Title Bond, Lost Vehicle Title Bond or DMV Bond) allows a vehicle owner to claim ownership and register the vehicle with the state when a title has been lost, stolen or is missing. This type of surety bond protects against items such as undisclosed security interests or cases where a duplicate title has been issued. The surety bond is typically required by the current owner in order to legally transfer ownership and register the vehicle. In Texas, the bonds are issued for a 3 year term.
How Much Does a Bonded Title Cost in Texas?
Most Common Bonds
Bonds up to $6,500
Bonds over $6,501 up to $30,000
3-Year Bond Starts at $125.00
1.5% of the Bond Amount
Bonds over $30,000
Bonds up to $30,000
3-Year Bond Starts at $100.00
1.5% of the Bond Amount
Other Helpful Information and Links
3-Step Title Bond Process in Texas
- Initial Application of Eligibility
The Texas DMV requires that you are "eligible" for a bonded title. For this they require an application and a $15 application fee. They require that you submit "A Statement of Fact for Bonded Title (Form VTR-130-SOF)" (the form is available here: http://www.txdmv.gov/reports-and-data/doc_download/933-vtr-130-sof-bonded-title-application-or-tax-collector-hearing-statement-of-fact ), your ID, and the copy of the bill of sale. The DMV will provide you with a letter regarding your title bond (sometimes referred to as a "rejection letter").
- Title Bond
Once you know the amount required, purchase your title bond. Provide us with the letter you received in step 1 (a scan or photo can be uploaded in the final step of the request). The DMV uses a calculator on their site to estimate the value. You can estimate on the Texas DMV site (bottom of the right column if you follow the link above). The bond must be for 1.5 times the value.
- Title Application
Finally, you need to submit to the DMV, the title bond, the "rejection letter," DMV Form 130-U (Also attached and available online here: http://www.txdmv.gov/reports-and-data/doc_download/998-form-130-u-application-for-texas-title-and-or-registration ), copy of the bill of sale, and the VTR-130-SOF. The DMV should then issue you the title.
- Texas DMV Page with Certificate of Title Process Information:
- Statement of Fact for Bonded Title (Form VTR-130-SOF):
- Bonded Title Application Form (Form 130-U):