Florida Mobile Home or Recreational Vehicle Dealer, Broker, Manufacturer, Importer or Distributor Bond
Florida Mobile Home or Recreational Vehicle Dealer, Broker, Manufacturer, Importer or Distributor Bond Information
Mobile home and recreational vehicle (RV) manufacturers, distributors, importers or converters must post surety bonds per requirements of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The surety bond ensures lawful business practices and compliance with governing rules and regulations including those designated in Chapter 319 and 320 of the Florida Statutes. These bonds have a set expiration date of September 30th and may be canceled by the surety company with 30 days prior written notice provided to the Department.
How Much Does a Mobile Home or Recreational Vehicle Dealer, Broker, Manufacturer, Importer or Distributor Bond Cost in Florida?
Can't find what you need?
Let our bond experts help!
Get Started »
No obligation, takes 2 minutes
If you'd prefer, call us at
Getting Your Florida Business License or Registration
Florida mobile home dealers are licensed and regulated by the Division of Motor Vehicles under Section 320.77 Florida Statutes. Florida law states that "any person, firm partnership or corporation that buys, sells, offers for sale, displays for sale or deals in one or more mobile homes in any 12-month period is presumed to be a mobile home dealer and must have an appropriate license issued by the State." The state of Florida uses two classes to categorize mobile home dealers; Mobile Home Dealers are defined as those dealing in new or used mobile homes. Mobile Home Brokers sell used mobile homes only. Both licenses permit the licensee to transact business at retail or wholesale.
General Licensing Requirements
- Submit business location for approval by a DMV representative.
- Complete application
- Paid fee for each main location.
- Annual fee required for the Mobile Home and Recreational Vehicle Trust Fund.
- Furnish $25,000 Surety Bond
- Submit copy of lease for location or proof of ownership.
- Secure Dealer training seminar certificate.
- Register fictitious trade name.
- Copy of corporate papers.
- Submit Sales tax number.
- Provide Federal employer identification number.
- Get Fingerprint cards and applicable fees
Note: According to Florida's Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act, "Any person violating these licensing requirements is guilty of a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and/or fine of $500. Such person will also be liable under civil law for violation of Florida's Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act, subject to fines of up to $5000 per violation, and may face a permanent injunction issued by a circuit court."