Florida Public Adjuster Bond
Florida Public Adjuster Bond Information
The Florida Department of Financial Services requires licensed resident public adjusters to post a $50,000 surety bond. The surety bond is conditioned upon the bonded principal's compliance with the rules and regulations of Department as set out by the Chief Financial Officer. The bonded public adjuster is also obligated to comply with the licensing provisions of the public adjuster laws, Part VI of Chapter 626, Section 626.851 through 626.878 Florida Statutes. This surety bond authorizes recovery by the Department of financial damages should the licensed public adjuster be found guilty of fraud or unfair practices in connection with his or her business.
What Does a Public Adjuster Bond Protect Against?
The Public Adjuster Bond authorizes recovery against the surety bond by the Florida Department of Financial Services for financial damages incurred when the bonded licensee is guilty of fraud or unfair practices in connection with his or her business as a public adjuster. More information can be found regarding the obligations of this bond and Florida public adjuster laws in Part VI of Chapter 626, Section 626.851 through 626.8797 Florida Statutes.
Getting Your Florida Business License or Registration
As a pre-requisite to becoming a Public Adjuster in Florida, you must meet the following criteria;
- Be a natural person of at least 18 years of age
- Be a resident of Florida or maintain a principle places of business in Florida
- Be a United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services
Following are the primary steps required to secure your Public Adjuster License in Florida;
- Successfully complete the approved, 40-hour Florida Certified Adjuster course
- Provide the name and license number of the supervising 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster when applying to the state of Florida
- File a surety bond in the amount of $50,000
- Complete the license application and pay the licensing fee
- Get fingerprinted
- Pass the 3-20 All Lines Public Adjuster examination
Once licensed, a public adjuster must be appointed in his or her own name, or by a public adjuster or a public adjusting firm. A public adjuster may only have one appointment.
Other Helpful Information and Links
The state of Florida defines a public adjuster as "any person, except a duly licensed attorney at law as exempted under FL Statute 626.860, who, for money, commission, or any other thing of value, prepares, completes, or files an insurance claim form for an insured or third-party claimant or who, for money, commission, or any other thing of value, acts on behalf of, or aids an insured or third-party claimant in negotiating for or effecting the settlement of a claim or claims for loss or damage covered by an insurance contract or who advertises for employment as an adjuster of such claims. The term also includes any person who, for money, commission, or any other thing of value, solicits, investigates, or adjusts such claims on behalf of a public adjuster."