Georgia Private Detective or Security Agency Bond
Georgia Private Detective or Security Agency Bond Information
A surety bond in the penal sum of $25,000 is required by those applying to the Georgia Board of Private Detective & Security Agencies for a license as Private Detective/Security Agency in accordance with the laws of the State of Georgia. The bond obligates the principal to uphold all of the laws governing the acts of Private Detective and Security Agencies in Georgia. The bond also indemnifies anyone who has been aggrieved financially by any act of the that constitutes a violation of Code Section 43-38 and reason for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license under Code Section 43-38-11. The liability associated all valid claims made against the bond and subsequent damages paid is limited to the statutory bond penalty.
Georgia Private Detective Bond Prices - Buy Online
Can't find what you need?
Let our bond experts help!
Get Started »
No obligation, takes 2 minutes
If you'd prefer, call us at
What Does a Private Detective Bond Protect Against?
The bond is conditioned upon principal as licensee complying with all laws governing the acts of Private Detective and Security Agencies in Georgia. The bond ensures faithfull performance of duties under Georgia Code Section 43-38. The bond is subject to suit by action for the purpose of indemnifying any persons financially damaged by any act of the principal that violates Code Section 43-38 and would be grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license under Code Section 43-38-11. All damages recovered against the bond are limited in aggregate to the stated amount of the bond.
Getting Your Georgia Business License or Registration
The following individuals and business types must be licensed in the state of Georgia: private detective businesses, employees of private detective businesses who are engaged in investigative activities, private security companies, and armed security guards of private security companies. The following steps are required to become licensed in Georgia:
- Meet the basic requirements education standards
- Complete the basic training course within six months of being hired, and the course must be from a state-approved provider and include 70 hours of classroom instruction.
- Those choosing to carry a firearm will additionally take the Firearm Training Curriculum for Handguns course and familiarize with the state laws regarding private investigator individuals and companies.
- Submit fingerprints and consent for a background investigation, proof of any private detective certification classes, and any weapons permits and certifications to potential employers.
- Private investigators must complete 16 hours of continuing education through an approved agency each year.