Arizona Private Investigator Bond
Arizona Private Investigator Bond Information
Arizona Private Investigators who are issued a license pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes, A.R.S. title 32-2401 must also furnish a surety bond. The surety bond must be in the amount (penal sum) of $2,500 and be written for the benefit of the people of the State of Arizona, Department of Public Safety. The obligation mandates that the bonded principal conducts business and satisfies all obligations of trust and service entered into by the principal in a faithful and honest manner. The principal must hold the people of the State of Arizona, Department of Public Safety, and all others employing the bonded principal harmless from any wrongful act or violation of the state statutes or regulations either by the principal, a member of the firm, partner, private investigator, agent or employee. This surety bond is issued to run concurrently with the license period.
Arizona Private Investigator Bond Prices - Buy Online
Can't find what you need?
Let our bond experts help!
Get Started »
No obligation, takes 2 minutes
If you'd prefer, call us at
What Does a Private Investigator Bond Protect Against?
The bond ensures that the investigator conducts business in a faithful and honest manner, including satisfactory performance of all obligations of trust and service. The bond protects the people of the State of Arizona, the Department of Public Safety, and all others employing the principal in the event of wrongful acts or violation of the state statutes and regulations by the principal, a member of the firm, partner, private investigator, agent or employee.
Getting Your Arizona Business License or Registration
The Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS) regulates private investigators and detective licensing in Arizona. All independent private investigators in the state have to be licensed. To be licensed, the investigator must have a minimum of three years of full-time investigative work experience. The experience requirement may be met through previous work experience at a private investigation firm or a federal, state or local government or law enforcement agency.
Steps to Becoming Licensed in Arizona
- Meet the basic requirement set out by the Department of Public Safety (DPS). Must be a U.S. citizen or legal resident and 18 years of age, have no felony convictions, not be under indictment for a felony, not be registered sex offenders, not be on parole or probation, not have misdemeanor convictions, and never been convicted of attempting to act as a private investigator without a license.
- Provide documentation from a former employer showing at least three years full-time investigative work experience.
- Post Private Investigator Surety Bond
- Undergo fingerprinting
- Submit application and pay required licensees fees